The TX Legislature Banner

Texas Legislature

Texas' legislative branch of government is governed by two houses: the Texas Senate and the Texas House of Representatives. Click here to find your elected officials.

Key Lawmakers

Governor Greg Abbott

Governor Greg Abbott (R)

Dade Phelan (R-Beaumont)
Speaker of the House

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R)

Member Photo

Rep. Chris Turner (D-Arlington)
Chair, House Business & Industry Committee

Governor Greg Abbott

Sen. Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola)
Chair, Senate State Affairs Committee.

Member Photo

Rep. Dustin Burrows (R-Lubbock)
Chair, House Calendars Committee

Sen. Charles Schwertner, M.D. (R-Georgetown)
Chair, Senate Business & Commerce Committee

Governor Greg Abbott

Rep. Jeff Leach (R-Plano)
Chair, House Judiciary & Civil Jurisprudence Committee

Sen. Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury)
Chair, Senate Committee on Natural Resources & Economic Development